A comprehensive index of information about  
"Michigan the Great Lakes State"  
Si Quaeris Peninsulam Amoenam Circumspice -  
If you seek a pleasant peninsula, look about you!  



Delta County

Related Links
Delta County Map

Michigan Cities
Michigan Counties
Michigan Townships

Event Calendar
Fishing Reports/Outdoor Conditions
Michigan Snowmobile Trail Reports
Michigan Real Estate
Hotel On-line Reservations


If you have comments or suggestions, please take a minute to write to the InfoMI Help Desk

Hotel City Search:
Great Rates

   Home - Hosting - Contact Us - Frequent Questions

Delta County, Michigan


Delta County, Michigan

Delta County, Michigan

Delta County was organized in 1843. At that time, it included parts of the four other surrounding counties and resembled a triangle, or the Greek letter "Delta" after which it was named. Delta County "surrounds" the northern portion of Green Delta, which includes Big Delta De Noc and Little Delta De Noc, which were named after the Nokay Indians, who lived here originally. Life has been documented here going back to at least 500 AD by Indian Cliff Paintings, (the only Indian paintings in Michigan), on Burnt Bluff near Fayette, which was an iron ore processing town in the 1860�s.

A little over half of Delta County is contained in the Hiawatha National Forest. There are over 140 inland lakes along with 144 miles of Lake Michigan coastline, making it a prime spot for water recreation and fishing. Iron ore is still mined here and exported from Escanaba, the county seat. Paper production, metal fabrication and tourism also play an important role in the area, with an economy on the grow. Major points of interest include Fayette State Park and the Escanaba Light House.


Delta County, Michigan     Delta County, Michigan

If you have comments or suggestions, please take a minute to write to the InfoMI Help Desk.
Back to InfoMI Main Page.


�2006 InfoMI. Site designed by Carrie's Creations Inc. All Rights Reserved.